Titus Awakes

Titus Awakes (Hardcover)

Usually Ships in 1-5 days


Mervyn Peakes Gormenghast trilogy is widely acknowledged to be, as Robertson Davies pronounced, 3a classic of our age. In these extraordinary novels, Peake created a world where all is like a dream--lush, fantastical, and vivid. Yet it was incomplete. Parkinsons disease took Peakes life in 1968, depriving his fans of the fourth and final volume of the series, "Titus Awakes" except for a few tantalizing pages, after which his writing became indecipherable. Or so it seemed.
In January of 2010, Peakes granddaughter found four composition books in her attic. They contained the fabled "Titus Awakes" in its entirety. Peake had outlined the novel for his wife, Maeve Gilmore, who had at last finished Peakes masterpiece.
It starts with Titus leaving Castle Gormenghast. Peake wrote: 3With every pace he drew away from Gormenghast mountain, and from everything that belonged to his home. That night, as Titus lay asleep in the tall barn, a nightmare held him. 3
Fans of Peake will delight in this new, wonderful novel, published one hundred years after his birth, every bit as thrilling and masterfully written as his famed trilogy.

Product Details ISBN-10: 159020428X
ISBN-13: 9781590204283
Published: Overlook Press, 07/01/2011
Pages: 288
Language: English
Recommended Reading Level Minimum Age: 17
Maximum Age: UP
Minimum Grade Level: 12th Grade
Maximum Grade Level: Up